Inspiring Education, Inspiring Lives!

Awards Ceremony 2020

Our annual Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday 9th January 2020 to celebrate our students GCSE and A Level results.

Our annual Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday 9th January 2020 to celebrate our students GCSE and A Level results. A number of awards were presented to students on the evening including Achievement and Progress Prizes together with the following additional awards:

Year Tutor Prize, Year 11 – Gracie Davis

Best GCSE Results, Year 11 Prize – Elizabeth Lewis, Oliver Andreae and Dominic Dewhurst

Best GCSE Progress, Year 11 Prize – Freya Turner, Mihaela Negrea, Finley Bridgwater and Abigael Russell

Headteacher's Prize – Oliver Andreae

Year Tutor Prize, Year 13 – Georgia Smith

Aiden Brookes Science Award – Alex Henfrey

Best A Level Results, Year 13 – Emily Scowen, Alex Henfrey and Louise Sherry

Best A Level Progress, Year 13 Prize – Alex Henfrey and Amba Jackson

Governors' Prize – Danniella BriggsThomas

Our guest speaker for the evening was former Oldbury Wells student Iain Pitt. You may remember we ran a story about Iain when he was given the honour of ringing the bell to close the day's trading at the New York Stock Exchange in June 2019. Iain is co-founder of the world's leading finance and investment energy network, now part of the Blackstone Group of Companies, MD Clarion Events. He reminisced about his time at Oldbury Wells in the 1990s and offered advice to students on how adopting a positive mindset will help them to go far in their chosen career paths. 

Chair of the Board of Trustees, Judy Mondon, gave a welcome speech and congratulated students on their achievements, and musical interludes were performed by our very own Encore vocal group.

Congratulations to all of our students; your excellent results are well deserved and we wish you the very best for the future.